A Geek's Guide To The Galaxy

Comics: Week of 04/03/13

Featured Comic(s) of the Week!

All New X-Men #10
Story by Brian Michael Bendis
Art by Stuart Immonen & Wade von Grawbadger
Cover by Stuart Immonen & Greg Horn
Marvel Comics

The Uncanny X-Men come to the Jean Grey School to recruit.

Who will join Cyclops and his revolutionary crew? The answer will shock you!

Mystique and Sabretooth continue to hatch their master plan and it doesn’t bode well for the All-New X-Men.

Well, here it is. Cyclops Present and team came to the Jean Grey School to recruit. Balls the size of Krakoa on that guy. There are few times I’ve seen Wolverine’s blood boil as strongly as this issue. As expected though, Cyclops “P” makes some obvious points that everyone seems to conveniently have forgotten – such as he was under the control of the Phoenix Force when he killed Xavier. I mean, it seems pretty stupid of the “Jean Grey” team, who are named after JEAN GREY to forget that even their saint, Jean Grey, was corrupted by the Phoenix force and cause some amazingly bad crap to occur. And yet, they have forgiven her over and over. Not that Cyclops “P’s” actions should be overlooked, but I mean, jeez people.

I do really like this direction and moral quandary that Hank is specifically at the forefront of. I mean, he is risking time and space to make his point. Is this any more or less lunatic than Scott? 

Speaking of, Scott Jr. is a going to be really frakked in the head. All of this makes me want to praise Brian Michael Bendis’ writing, but condemn it at the same time. I’m loving what I’m reading, but the logic that he is selectively ignoring seems pretty dumb.

The art by Immonen and Grawbadger is excellent. I see a little bit of influence from Cassaday’s Astonishing X-Men run, but this is really fantastic framing and expressions. Some of my favorite panels are highlighted below.

Overall, I really love this run and look forward to where it goes from here and how long they can sustain this storyline. But for now, I am on board and despite my logic gripes, think this is the most enjoyable X-Men comics I’ve read since Joss Whedon’s run on Astonishing a few years ago.


THE SUPERIOR SPIDER-MAN #7
Story by Dan Slott
Art by Humberto Ramos & Victor Olazaba
Colors by Edgar Delgado
Cover by Humberto Ramos & Edgar Delgado
Marvel Comics

“Troubled Mind” Part 1

An Avenger no more?

With the public at large realizing this is no longer a “Friendly Neighborhood” Spider-Man, and in light of his actions in recent events, will the Avengers kick Spidey off the team? Plus the return of Cardiac!

And a new development for a Spider-Man who hasn’t been seen for some time. And by time, we mean centuries.

The lead up to the Spider-Event of the Summer STARTS HERE!

Well, Doc Ock is finally being put to task about his pompous behavior. I think he has totally overstepped his bounds, pushing people to their limits… and yet… In order to maintain this storyline, I feel like he is going to somehow get away with this again. Despite Peter gaining little bits and pieces of his mind and Spider-Man tossing Captain Freakin’ America across the room, I just think this storyline has not played itself out yet. I’m glad they are finally moving forward everyone’s suspicions. It’ll be interesting to see how Ock gets himself out of this.

Overall, I’m enjoying Slott’s story and I am looking forward to see how Peter will pull his life back together once this is all resolved. Will Doc Ock have to die for real for Peter to gain back his body? Will Doc Ock been turned into a Modock-like computer-man?

Oh, and Ramos & Olazaba’s art: The lines and characterizations are really cool. And while the coloring makes this feel like a mainstream book, the lines themselves feel very indie comic – thank you Latin artists!

This is becoming a book I am always looking forward to. And while I always buy Spider-Man anyways, because I am an addict, I’m glad I’m reading this because it’s great now, and not just because it’s, well, Spider-Man.

Leave a Reply

