A Geek's Guide To The Galaxy

Comics: Week of 4/16/13

Featured Comics of the Week

He-Man and the Masters of the Universe #1
Story by Keith Giffen
Art by Pop Mhan
Colors by Kathryn Layno
Letters by Saida Temofonte
Cover by Ed Benes, Randy Mayor, Terry Dodson, & Rachel Dodson
DC Entertainment

First exciting issue of the new, ongoing adventures of He-Man and the Masters of the Universe!

While the Masters of the Universe mourn the loss of a fallen friend, Hordak infiltrates Eternia!

Featuring the return of She-Ra! Now known as Despara, the most lethal weapon in Hordak’s army, she returns to Eternia as He-Man’s newest enemy!

Well, basically, I love He-Man. I mean, I was the biggest He-Man fan as a kid. I read a little bit of the mini-series that led to this issue and found them strange but enjoyable. This is a fun comic that takes the mythos that we know and love (that is fairly paper-thin from the toy-based 80’s show) and expands upon it. This is a world of Science and Magic, where crazy sci-fi meets the mystic arts. 

Seeing characters like Teela be given a whole new depth is terrific to see. I feel like Mhan’s art is, while not amazing,  quite good for something like this and it is quite exciting to see true dynamic motion and emotion given to these once-toys. 

The story by Giffen is compelling, if not a little confusing. This is an issue #1 and relies very heavily on the mini-series that came before it. Unfortunately I did not finish the mini, so I was left very confused. The state of Skeletor, the Sorcerous and Teela are left almost entirely to the readers imagination. This felt very clumsy for a “first” issue. I mean, I figured out the gist of what happened previously, but it was not handled well at all.

While the status quo is set by the mini-series and the main character dynamic is set by it, the story seems to be moving forward to one about a re-imagined Hordak and Auroa (She-Ra). This part of the story intrigued me and definitely hooked me to read the next issue in the series. 

But, if Giffen doesn’t work out his clumsy expositions, I might have to jump ship. For the sake of my childhood heroes, I hope he works it out, because this is one adventure I’m excited to follow.


The Superior Spider-Man #8
Story by Dan Slott
Art by Humberto Ramos & Victor Olazaba
Colors by Edgar Delgado
Letters by Chris Eliopoulos
Cover by Humberto Ramos & Edgar Delgado
Marvel Comics

“Troubled Mind”, Part 2

Peter Parker takes a stand!

With a villain acting like a hero and a hero acting like a villain, one man has decided that enough is enough!

More with Cardiac! More surprises! And a moment that will break a lot of hearts!

To save the life of one of Spider-Man’s enemies, Peter Parker fights to regain control of his body, his mind, and his destiny!

Is this the beginning of the end for Otto Octavius?

This is another fine entry into the Superior Spider-Man series. Although I am less excited about this issue than the previous. The art by Ramos and Olazaba is top notch. But, the story is losing me a bit. I think I am angry where the story is headed. This is a compelling storyline with Doc Oc growing from super villain and super ego to someone who truly sees the errors of his ways. But… I love Peter Parker. They already killed off the Ultimate version of Parker – I just hope Slott is making strong decisions. I’m nowhere near jumping ship and I trust that the powers that be know what they are doing, but this story is beginning to feel a little played out and I’m a bit ready to move on from it. Or maybe I’m just in a grumpy mood.

And why are the Avengers so stupid?? Why would they, none of them scientists at all, think they can run scans as complex as they did? Sure Tony Stark is in space and Giant Man is… somewhere. But, um, they know Bruce Banner, Reed Richards, Doc Strange and a thousand other ACTUAL SCIENTISTS! Dumb.

I just don’t understand, if Oc potentially is going to “permanently kill” Peter Parker (in consciousness as well as body), then what was the point of the last 8 issues? Why not just have Parker die when he, well… died in Amazing #700? Maybe these are intentional questions that are being raised.

I enjoyed the issue, but am just a bit frustrated.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2013 by in Comics & Reviews and tagged , , , , .
